You are liars

Jn 8:51-59
“You are liars…”

I almost skipped that part as I thought, “no body lies here anyway, why do you call them liars, Lord?”. Many of us are honest, … or are we?

The very next sentence really help me to understand what the Lord Jesus means,

“But I do know him, and I faithfully keep his word.”

Jesus must be referring to this when he says about lying. He connects the two, between knowing God and faithfully keeping His word. I realized then that we lie not just with words, but also with our lives.

Here I am, claiming to be christians and claiming to know God, and yet, have I faithfully keep His word?

Here I am, claiming to know God and to love God, and yet, I struggle to spend time with God in prayer, I struggle even to spend time to listen to His Word in the Scriptures.

Even during this lockdown due to Coronavirus, people seem to have more time to watch Christians’ movies than to actually pray, be more loving, and in short, to be more christians. Maybe we are liars after all…

What is striking of this discourse of Jesus is that it is addressed to those who believe in Him (Wednesday’s mass reading). It is addressed to us, you and me.

And yet, the responsorial psalm seems to be consoling, “The Lord remembers his covenant for ever.” As St. Paul says, He remains faithful even when we are not faithful, because he cannot deny Himself. This is the good news in this Lent Season. Our God is faithful to His covenant with us. Let’s make use of these days to turn again to him, to be more faithful, to know Him more, and to love Him more, simply to be truthful to who we are.

https://universalis.com/20200402/mass.htm

Leave a comment